• Français
  • Greek
  • Türkçe
  • Russian
  • English
Home arrow Norms of publication
NORMS OF PUBLICATION OF THE AMPHORA STAMPS

1. Fundamental principles

Amphoras were stamped in series with dies which are lost today. The publication of the stamps has to take into account this fact and consequently to respond to two fundamental principles : the economy of words and the relevance.

1.1. Economy of words

It is imperative to avoid repetitions in regrouping informations and general reflexions in an introduction, to omit them when they are ordinary and to mention under each stamp only those which are particular to it.

1.2. Relevance

The commentary of the material has to be in strict rapport to the purpose of the publication. In the case of an article devoted to a particular site, for example, it is not relevant to record all of the attestations of the eponym or « fabricant » named on the stamp that is published, more especially as the list of results often confuses the homonyms and, especially in big series, only creates an illusion of exhaustivity.

2. Types of publication

One distinguishes two types of publications according as to whether they are dealing with :
a) the dies (as revealed by a stamp) ;
b) the stamps themselves.
The corpora dedicated to a production centre pertain to the first type of publication (a). The works devoted to a consumption site or to an archaeological collection (which often constitute a necessary step in the creation of a corpus) belong to the second (b).
The structure of the commentary depends on the type of publication : the content of the rubric 3.2 is not the same in the types a and b ; the rubrics 3.3 and 3.4 are theoretically absent of type a.

3. Commentary and illustration

3.1. Reference

An inventory number (of museum rather than excavation) must indicate where the stamp is held. If the later has already been published, the different editions will be presented in a « genetic » manner, using parentheses.

3.2. Die and stamp

According to the planned publication (a or b) one will mention, if possible :

a) the stamps produced by the published die ;
b) the die, published or not, which has produced the stamp (or, at least, the « type » to which it belongs).

3.3. The context of the discovery

When it presents an interest, the context of the discovery ought to be stated as clearly as possible.

3.4. Description of the amphora (or lagynos)

Authors should describe the clay and the slip (especially when they are atypical), the surviving fragments of the amphora (if significant) and, where necessary, the capacity or at least the size of the container, without omitting the eventual graffiti and dipinti. The position of the stamp has to be indicated in some cases (on the handle, neck, body or foot...).

3.5. Description and transcription of the stamp

It is important to record the form of the stamp (if it varies), to transcribe the legend in small accented letters, using editorial sigla, but also to identify the emblem(s). A system of arrows should be used to indicate the orientation of the various elements of the stamps.

3.6. Attribution

One must indicate the date or the period to which the stamp belongs and eventually its workshop or engraver.

3.7.Parallels

The reference to parallels (stamps produced under the same eponym or by the same fabricant, etc.) must be in accordance with the two fundamental principles mentioned above. It is usually not necessary in the publications dealing with a site of consumption or an archaeological collection. Concerning the stamps produced by the same die, see above (3.2).

3.8. Miscellaneous

It is not necessary to repeat the preceding commentaries on eponym, fabricant, emblem, etc. unless one wants to add something new.

3.9. Illustration

The stamp(s) imprinted on each handle should be illustrated by a photograph at a scale of 1 : 1 illustrating the object itself or its rubbing. The photography can be supplemented, but not substituted by a drawing.

4. Index

All publications of amphora stamps must include an index mentioning fabricants, eponyms, months and emblems.

5. Bibliography

The bibliographies have to be as limited as possible. A list of abbreviations should allow the author to refer to all the various periodicals in a standard form.
 

Complemtary bibliography
 
 
N. Badoud, « De la description en archéologie : l'exemple des timbres amphoriques », Alexandrie, 2007 (available here).

Y. Garlan, « La publication des timbres amphoriques grecs », in J. Remesal Rodriguez (éd.), Epigrafía anfórica, Barcelone, 2004, p. 11-19.

L. Robert, Gnomon 42 (1970), p. 579-603. 

 
Site Meter

• Français
  • Greek
  • Türkçe
  • Russian
  • English
Accueil arrow Normes de publication
NORMES DE PUBLICATION DES TIMBRES AMPHORIQUES
 
 
1. Principes fondamentaux

Les timbres amphoriques ont été produits en série grâce à l'apposition de matrices (aujourd'hui disparues) sur l'argile crue des amphores. Leur publication doit tenir compte de cet état de fait en répondant à deux principes fondamentaux : l'économie et la pertinence.

1.1. Economie

Il est impératif d'éviter les répétitions en regroupant les informations et les réflexions d'ordre général dans une introduction, en les omettant lorsqu'elles sont trop banales, et en ne faisant figurer sous chaque timbre que celles qui lui sont particulières.

1.2. Pertinence

Le commentaire du matériel doit se trouver en stricte adéquation avec la finalité de la publication. Dans le cadre d'un article consacré à un site particulier, par exemple, il n'est pas pertinent de relever toutes les attestations du magistrat éponyme ou du « fabricant » mentionnés sur le timbre que l'on publie, ce d'autant moins que la liste à laquelle on aboutit confond souvent les homonymes et - s'agissant des grandes séries - ne crée jamais qu'une illusion d'exhaustivité.

2. Types de publication

On distingue deux types de publications, selon qu'elles portent :

a) sur des matrices (chacune d'elles étant matérialisée par un timbre) ;

b) sur les timbres proprement dits.

Au premier type (a) se rattachent les corpus consacrés à un centre de production ; au second (b), les ouvrages dévolus à un lieu de consommation ou à une collection, qui constituent souvent une étape nécessaire dans la composition du corpus.

La construction du commentaire varie selon la publication : le contenu de la rubrique 3.2 n'est pas le même dans les types a et b ; les rubriques 3.3 et 3.4 sont théoriquement absentes du type a.

3. Commentaire et illustration

3.1. Référence

Un numéro d'inventaire (de musée plutôt que de fouille)  doit permettre de localiser le timbre. Si ce dernier a déjà été publié auparavant, les différentes éditions seront présentées de manière génétique, à l'aide de parenthèses.

3.2. Matrice et timbre

Selon la publication envisagée (a ou b), on mentionnera si possible :

a) les timbres qui sont issus de la matrice publiée ;

b) la matrice, déjà connue ou inédite, dont est issu le timbre publié (ou, à défaut, le « type » auquel il appartient).

3.3. Contexte de découverte

Lorsqu'il présente un intérêt, le contexte de découverte sera mentionné de manière aussi explicite que possible.

3.4. Description de l'amphore (ou du lagynos)

On décrira la pâte et l'engobe (surtout lorsqu'ils sont atypiques), la partie conservée de l'amphore (lorsqu'elle est significative) et, le cas échéant, la capacité ou du moins le module du récipient, sans omettre de relever les éventuels graffiti et dipinti. La position du timbre mérite aussi d'être notée (anse, col, panse, pied...).

3.5. Description et transcription du timbre

Il convient de relever la forme du timbre (lorsqu'elle varie), de transcrire la légende en minuscules accentuées et accompagnées de signes critiques, mais aussi d'identifier le ou les emblèmes. Un système de flèches suffit à préciser l'orientation des différents éléments constitutifs du timbre.

3.6. Attribution

On indiquera la date ou la période du timbre, et on le rattachera éventuellement à un atelier ou à un graveur particuliers.

3.7. Parallèles

La mention de parallèles (timbres produits sous un même éponyme ou par un même fabricant, etc.) doit répondre aux deux principes fondamentaux énoncés ci-dessus ; elle ne se justifie généralement pas dans les publications relatives à un site de consommation ou à une collection. Sur les timbres issus d'une même matrice, voir ci-dessus (3.2).

3.8. Divers

Il n'est pas nécessaire de reprendre les commentaires auxquels éponyme, fabricant, emblème, etc. ont précédemment donné lieu, sauf à y ajouter du nouveau.

3.9. Illustration

Le ou les timbres apposés sur chaque anse doivent être illustrés d'une photographie à l'échelle 1 : 1 de l'objet lui-même ou de son frottis, qui peut être complétée, mais non remplacée, par un dessin.

4. Index

Toute publication de timbres amphoriques doit être accompagnée d'un index mentionnant fabricants, éponymes, mois et emblèmes.

5. Bibliographie

Les références bibliographiques doivent être limitées au strict nécessaire. Une liste d'abréviations permet de citer les périodiques sous une forme normalisée.
 
 
 
Bibliographie complémentaire
 
N. Badoud, « De la description en archéologie : l'exemple des timbres amphoriques », Alexandrie, 2007 (consultable ici).

Y. Garlan, « La publication des timbres amphoriques grecs », in J. Remesal Rodriguez (éd.), Epigrafía anfórica, Barcelone, 2004, p. 11-19.

L. Robert, Gnomon 42 (1970), p. 579-603.
 
Site Meter